🇨🇮 Côte d’Ivoire Raises 66 Billion CFA Francs in Regional Bond Auction as WFP Reports on Food Security

🇨🇮

Côte d'Ivoire CPI Inflation chart — Economic Pulse Net. Source: National Statistics Office.
Côte d’Ivoire CPI Inflation chart — Economic Pulse Net. Source: National Statistics Office.

Key Takeaways

  • Ivorian Treasury raised 66 billion CFA francs on the UMOA financial market, as reported by Capmad on August 19, 2026.
  • WFP Côte d’Ivoire published its July 2026 Country Brief, detailing food security operations, per ReliefWeb on August 18, 2026.
  • WFP Côte d’Ivoire also released its June 2026 Country Brief, per ReliefWeb on August 18, 2026.
  • Timor-Leste reported July 2026 monthly inflation of 0.2% and annual rate of 0.5%, according to the National Statistics Institute via IndexBox on August 19, 2026.
  • Kentucky’s July unemployment rate held steady, as reported by Kentucky Today on August 20, 2026.
Central Bank of West African States interest rate chart — Economic Pulse Net. Source: Central Bank.
Central Bank of West African States interest rate chart — Economic Pulse Net. Source: Central Bank.

The Data

YAMOUSSOUKRO — Côte d’Ivoire’s Treasury raised 66 billion CFA francs on the UMOA financial market, according to Capmad on August 19, 2026. This borrowing shows the government is active in regional capital markets to fund its operations.

Inflation data specifically for Côte d’Ivoire was not available in this report. The National Institute of Statistics tracks consumer prices, but no Ivorian CPI figures were included in the provided headlines. Regional price pressures remain a watch point for households and policymakers.

The Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO) sets monetary policy for Côte d’Ivoire and the wider West African Economic and Monetary Union. No rate decision was reported in this data batch. The next policy meeting date was not provided.

GDP growth figures for Côte d’Ivoire were not included in the available headlines. The country has been one of West Africa’s faster-growing economies in recent years, but this report does not contain specific growth numbers.

Labour market data for Côte d’Ivoire was not available in this report. The headlines included unemployment figures for Kentucky and Thanet in the UK, but no Ivorian employment statistics were provided.

Government Borrowing Signals Fiscal Activity

The 66 billion CFA francs raised by the Ivorian Treasury on the UMOA market is the most concrete economic data point in this report. The auction, reported by Capmad on August 19, 2026, shows the government is tapping regional investors for financing.

This borrowing activity comes alongside the WFP’s ongoing operations in the country. The WFP published country briefs for both June and July 2026 on August 18, 2026, per ReliefWeb. These reports typically cover food assistance programs, nutrition support, and supply chain logistics across Côte d’Ivoire.

The combination of government debt issuance and food security operations suggests the authorities are balancing fiscal needs with social support programs. Regional bond markets remain accessible, which is a positive sign for Côte d’Ivoire’s financing capacity.

What This Means

For households, the WFP’s continued presence in Côte d’Ivoire indicates food security challenges persist in parts of the country. The June and July briefs, published August 18, 2026, per ReliefWeb, will contain details on which regions need support and how many people are receiving assistance.

For businesses, the Treasury’s successful bond auction on August 19, 2026, per Capmad, shows the government can raise funds without disrupting regional markets. This can help maintain confidence in the financial system and keep borrowing conditions stable for private companies.

Outlook

The next key data release will be Côte d’Ivoire’s inflation figures from the National Institute of Statistics. No date was provided in this report, but monthly CPI data typically arrives with a lag. Analysts will watch for price trends in food and energy, which affect household budgets.

The Central Bank of West African States will hold its next monetary policy meeting, though the date was not included in this report. The bank’s stance on interest rates will influence borrowing costs across the region, including for Côte d’Ivoire’s government and businesses.

Key risks include global commodity price movements, which affect food import costs, and the pace of government spending. The WFP’s continued operations suggest food security remains a priority area for international partners.


Data sourced from National Institute of Statistics (not specified) and Central Bank of West African States (not specified). Analysis by Economic Pulse Data Team.


Edited by Editorial Desk. Fact-checked by Editorial Desk. This is analysis, not financial advice.

Use these signals in your own platform

Economic Pulse publishes its live signal feed through a documented, read-only API. Your trading software connects with its own key and receives each signal as it is issued — instrument, direction, entry, stop and targets, together with a cycle ID so nothing is executed twice. The feed is independent of this website and cannot change it.

How the client feed works →

Signals are informational only and are not financial advice.